Bulletins réflexifs

The world in 2020: Compliance is not going to be enough

  In my role as a travelling ethicist for the past 25 years, I’ve gained perspective on many aspects of society around the world. I’ve seen both the positive and negative effects of economic liberalism and, in the past 20 years, the negative effects of subscribing to neoliberalism at all...

#ethics2020

Ethics is the key to solving social issues. At a time when the security of the planet is at stake, when the balance between the powers of nations is shifting, when governments are challenged by movements of mistrust around the world, when young people are questioning their future, many continue...

Courage: a quality of the heart

When it comes to corporate management and boards of directors, we talk little of courage except to cite the vague concept of managerial courage, which, at best, really only means that you will make the choices you have to make to do your job as expected. If a word is...

Ethics & AI: what exactly do we want?

Artificial intelligence (AI) has been one of the most debated topics of the last few months, and with good reason. To some, AI is the answer to all our problems, whereas, for others, it is a threat to our very existence as humans. Its development raises fundamental questions that are...

future of work

Strategic ethics: preparing for the future

While many are wondering whether we should revise the past by taking down statues, is anyone thinking of the future? Who is truly thinking of the distant future? And, in this distant future, what will your business’s ethics look like? Throughout the fall, my Reflections on Ethics will offer a...

The unethical tax: the cost of doing business unethically

An example is not necessarily an example to be followed. - Albert Camus Volkswagen has been ordered to pay 18 billion dollars in fines, in the United States alone, because of its emissions-cheating diesel engines. Without going into a comprehensive analysis of the case, it is evident that this will...

Design-DECODE

Design Decode is a way of bringing together different voices to understand the "way" and the "what if" of design. Each issue tells a story. We approach every interview with the intention to explore, to experiment and to curate new possibilities. Read Design Truth by René Villemure  here

Le monde en 2020 : La conformité n’aura pas suffi

  Mon rôle d’éthicien-voyageur m’a permis, au cours des 25 dernières années, d’observer la société sous plusieurs angles, sur plusieurs continents. J’ai pu voir les effets, positifs et négatifs, du libéralisme économique puis, depuis les 20 dernières années, les effets négatifs du néolibéralisme à tout prix. (suite…)

Télétravail et culture d’entreprise

Parler d’éthique, c’est avant tout parler des gens et de la manière dont il convient de vivre ensemble   Vous avez fait de votre entreprise un endroit où il fait bon travailler, peut-être avez-vous obtenu une certification telle la Marque Employeur ou Employeur de choix. Vos employés sont heureux de travailler chez-vous.  Puis. Covid....

L’éthique express

La montée de l’intelligence artificielle rend l’éthique et la réflexion éthique d’autant plus fondamentales. Ne pas vouloir le reconnaître est synonyme de confier à d’autres son avenir. Plusieurs parlent d’éthique et d’IA sous l’angle de la protection des données, des limites de la recherche ou encore de la préservation des...

#ethique2020

L’éthique est là où vous ne l’attendiez plus Alors que de la sécurité de la planète est en jeu, alors que l’équilibre entre les puissances des nations bascule, alors que les gouvernements sont remis en question par des mouvements de défiance tout autour du monde, alors que les jeunes se...

L’éthique, une fois pour toutes

En 2019, personne ne peut plus ignorer le mot « éthique », pourtant, lorsque on l’entend c’est habituellement pour en déplorer le manque. Pourrait-on parler d’éthique sans évoquer des manquements ou des catastrophes? Aurait-on, au fil du temps, et afin de ne pas perdre du temps à réfléchir, réduit l’éthique à une...

Pensée d’été: rien n’est évident

Combien de fois par semaine pouvons-nous entendre une personne répondre « c’est évident » sans qu’elle n’ait pris réellement le temps de penser si c’est « si évident que cela » pour tout le monde? Combien de fois l’avons-nous fait nous-mêmes?D’ailleurs, que veut dire ce « c’est évident »? Que tout était par avance su? Que...

En 2019, Raisonner ou résonner?

C’est une très méchante manière de raisonner que de rejeter ce que l’on ne peut comprendre. - René de Châteaubriand Un ami, spécialiste du web, me disait récemment que les internautes, en moyenne, ne lisaient que l’introduction d’un texte avant que d’être happés par un hyperlien qui les mène vers...